Life and Death

Crown of thornsCrown of Thorns

Enjoying the opportunity to notice beauty in things I pass every day.  This morning I saw some beautiful crown of thorns.  I have one at home but the flowers are tiny compared to their tropical cousins.  Crown of thorns reminds me too that we are approaching the dark time of the Christian year.  My plant blooms around Holy Week and the blooms are a vivid scarlet, truly resembling drops of blood on thorny branches.  Death has been much on my mind of course with Mark’s health being so precarious. Like so many things, death can be an obsessive issue for people.  Some obsess by defiance engaging in activities which risk the possibility of death, or intensify the sense of being alive.  Others numb the reality in a variety of other ways, and there are those who enter into a personal style which celebrates death.  I continue to wonder about this in relation to the fascination with vampire stories and clubs.  But in the face of the loss and pain involved in the death of a loved one, it can be easy to lose sight of the love and joy and beauty which surround us.  Depression, crankiness and irritability rear their heads easily.  Crown of thorns….crucifixion and resurrection…. death and life….sadness and joy….remember to notice the beauty.

This entry was posted in Beauty, Camino, spiritual journey and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Life and Death

  1. Jacqulin McNicol says:

    Thanks so much for sharing once again Bob, I enjoy your words as they do help me to realize the importance of reflection as it seems more and more that something so simple and healing is often forgotten in the fast paced life we feel we must be a part of. Send hugs to Mark and tell him that I look forward to seeing him in the warm sun of Squamish when he hopefully comes to visit. I would not normally ask for this but if you have a moment please send some sunshine and spiritual thoughts my dads way as his battle with cancer is affecting his health more severly then we had thought. Please send me beautiful photos and words as you can, I am always grateful for them.
    Jacqulin

    • Hi Jacqulin,
      I didn’t know that your Dad was battling cancer too. His name is Doug I think and I will put him on my prayer list. Thanks for your comments. Looking forward to hearing from you again.
      Bob

  2. Just Rod says:

    Be still and know that I am God – there is beauty to behold. PV gives me time to reflect.

Leave a Reply

